Automatic IP blocking helps to prevent your own visits to be logged by the visitor tracker. This helps to conserve your log space.

When Auto IP blocking option is enabled (under your accounts settings), the system will place a temporary cookie in your browser that helps TraceMyIP to identify your visits and stop logging your activity upon your visits to your own web pages.

Automatic IP blocking may become disabled if one of the following occur
  • You have purged the browser's cache along with all the cookies, or the cookies have expired, including your automatic IP blocking cookie
  • You have enabled a private browsing mode in your browser, thus blocking cookie usage
  • Your web browser is configured to purge its cache and cookies on each application exit, therefore purging the blocking cookie as well
  • Your browser has unexpectedly crashed, losing all or some cookies
  • You use a different browser than the browser you have used to access your TraceMyIP account when you set your auto IP blocking option.
If for any reason you are unable to use auto IP blocking, you can manually specify your IP address in manual IP blocking section to prevent the system from logging your own visits.

If you use several browser, you would need to login to your TraceMyIP account while the Automatic IP blocking option is enabled. This will set a blocking cookie in all of your browsers and your visits will no longer be logged by the tracker from the browser that you have used to login to your TraceMyIP account.

For more information on Automatic IP blocking, please see block visitor tracker from logging your own visits document.
Category: Troubleshooting